“Magical Realism”

In the Summer of 2016 I took my first visit to Colombia! I word it like this because I know, that I know, that I know and I hope by NOW that you know it will not be my last! South America is close to the Caribbean and for some strange, what I can only assume to be an absolutely bizarre reason it tends to not be our first thought for a vacation. After my visit to Colombia I could not believe I had been missing out all these years on such beauty and so much culture! The flight on Avianca was about two hours from Barbados. I wasn’t lying when I said it was close! On board we were fed and the baggage allowance was two pieces at 35 lbs. each for free which is practically unheard of with airlines now. Avianca was a great start and finish to our Colombian adventure! We visited four cities- Bogotá, Santa Marta, Barranquilla and Cartagena in a ten day guided trip.

Must see sights include: Teyuna (Santa Marta), El Totumo Mud Valcano (Santa Catalina), Mount Monserrate (Bogotá), The Salt Cathedral, Bolivar Square (Bogotá), Tayrona National park (Santa Marta), the gold museum (Bogotá).

Santa Marta

DSC_0263.JPG

dsc_0189

dsc_0224

dsc_0285

DSC_0253.JPG

Barranquilla
dscn7361

Here’s a video of me via my instagram (@Caramichaelaa) doing an impromptu dance with the locals!!

The Skirt fit me like a glove, what else was I suppose to do? 😁

A post shared by CaraMichaela (@caramichaelaa) on

Cartagenadsc_0446

dsc_0434

DSC_0440.JPG

Bogotádscn7703

dscn7626

dscn7579

image-10.jpeg

DSC_0510.JPG

image-8

When I close my eyes I dream of Colombia! I’m just about ready to return to visit the cities I haven’t seen. I’ve since started listening to artists such as Carlos Vives, Chino y nacho and Shakira’s spanish  tracks! No, I don’t speak spanish…yet, but I love the feeling of the music, it makes me so happy. I’m currently working on my spanish and I encourage all speakers to help a “sista” out!

Also do yourself a favour and let go of those silly stereotypes you’ve heard about Colombia that are stopping you from experiencing this great country. PSA: At NO time did I not feel safe!  If you remember nothing else from this post, remember that Colombia should be your next vacation spot of choice and I’m only telling you this because I have your best interest at heart!

This trip was made possible by DMA Value Vacations 246-435-7959

Cara Michaela

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joyann Williams says:

    Sounds very interesting….. love the video with you dancing!!! You sold me on wanting to take a trip to Columbia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Denese says:

    Another inspiring piece I have my bags packed ready to go Colombia..si senorita esta lista

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jnkbrdg says:

    I’m right there with you! I also hope you will be back again.

    Like

  4. Elvis Joel says:

    Leave it to a 100+ time visitor of Colombia to tell you, you can’t ever get enough of it! 🙂 Work, business or pleasure, it always has what you need! 25+ different and unique cities to visit, sure makes a great checklist! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

